Your phone might be the priciest thing you pack.
Roam, and you pay your network's daily rate whether you use it or not. Buy a travel eSIM, and you pay for data. Which one stings less depends on your plan, your trip and your habits — so this works it out with your numbers instead of a stranger's. It's a guide to the size of the difference, not a quote: only your network can tell you what it will actually charge you.
The estimate
Roaming
Travel eSIM
If you go the eSIM route
We may earn a commission if you buy through these links, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change the order they appear in, and you only see them when the figures above favour an eSIM — when roaming wins, this box stays away.
Why every site gives you a different number
Your contract date matters
Most networks reintroduced European charges on a specific date and left older contracts alone. Two people on the same network and the same tariff can pay different amounts depending on when they signed.
Plan tier changes everything
Premium plans often bundle roaming that cheaper plans charge for. Pay-as-you-go is usually a separate scheme again, with its own daily and weekly rates.
Destinations are zoned
Networks split the world into zones, and the same trip can cost nothing, a couple of pounds a day, or seven, depending which zone your destination sits in. Ireland is frequently free when the rest of Europe isn't.
Typical figures, if you can't check right now
| Network | Europe | Fair-use cap | Beyond Europe |
|---|---|---|---|
| EE | £2.72/day, or 7-day pass £16.50 / 12-day £27.50 | 50GB if your allowance exceeds 50GB | £6–16/day by zone |
| Vodafone | £2.75/day Zone B; Ireland, Isle of Man, Iceland, Norway free | 25GB | £6–8/day depending on plan date |
| O2 | Included on most plans | 25GB | Around £7/day |
| Sky Mobile | £2/day flat in 121 destinations, including Turkey, Andorra and the US; no passes | 25GB | £2/day — same rate |
| Three | £2/day, or £2.75 if you joined from 18 Dec 2025; 3-day pass £5 / 7-day £12 / 14-day £24 | 12GB | £5–8/day by band |
| Lebara | Included on SIM-only plans, plus India | 30GB | Add-on needed, bought in advance |
| giffgaff, SMARTY, iD, Tesco, VOXI | Generally included | 5–30GB | Usually not included |
Every figure here is a rough starting point, not a quote — networks price by plan and contract date. These are typical figures, not promises. Premium plans, older contracts and business tariffs all differ. Use the calculator's step-one check to get yours properly — it takes about two minutes and it's the difference between an estimate and an answer.
The European countries that aren't "Europe"
Look your destination up directly if you already know where you're going — one row gives you all five networks' prices for it. The rest of this section explains why they differ so much.
Your network's Europe zone is a list it chooses, not a map of the continent — and EU membership predicts it surprisingly badly. EE's European zone, for example, runs to 47 destinations and includes nine places that are in neither the EU nor the EEA, while leaving out sixteen European countries entirely.
| Group | Destinations | What to expect |
|---|---|---|
| EU and EEA | The 27 member states, plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, plus overseas regions like the Canaries, Madeira, the Azores, Martinique and Réunion | Covered by every mainstream plan |
| Outside the EU, usually included anyway | Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City, Gibraltar, Jersey, Guernsey, Isle of Man | All in EE's European zone despite being outside the EU and EEA. Not guaranteed on every network, but the news is usually good |
| European, but charged as rest-of-world | Turkey, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Moldova, Ukraine, Belarus, Russia, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia | Outside EE's European zone, at anywhere from roughly twice to six times the European daily rate |
| Divided island | Northern Cyprus | Explicitly excluded, while the Republic of Cyprus is included. Your rate can change mid-island |
| At sea | Cruise ships and ferries | A separate maritime zone with its own charge, regardless of which country you're sailing past |
This uses EE's zones as a worked example because EE publishes its full list. Other networks draw the lines differently, so treat it as a guide to where the question arises rather than an answer for your own plan.
Andorra is the odd one out
Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City all sit in EE's European zone, so it's tempting to assume the microstates are fine. Andorra doesn't — it's two zones out, at roughly three times the European rate. It catches drivers crossing between France and Spain.
The Balkans are expensive
Albania, Bosnia, Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Kosovo are all outside the European zone. A fortnight in Split costs European rates; a fortnight in Sarajevo does not.
Border areas catch people out
Your phone can connect to a mast across a border without you leaving the country you're in. It can trigger a day's charge for somewhere you only drove past. Networks will often refund it if you ask, but setting your network manually avoids the argument.
Pay monthly and pay as you go are different schemes
This trips people up because networks present roaming as a single policy, then apply a different one to PAYG customers. If you're on pay as you go, the figures quoted in most articles — including the ones on this page — are usually the pay monthly ones.
Lower data caps
Fair-use allowances are routinely smaller on PAYG. EE, for example, allows considerably less roaming data on pay as you go than on its pay monthly plans, and going past it means paying by the gigabyte.
Passes instead of allowances
Where a contract customer gets roaming folded into their plan, PAYG customers are often sold a daily or weekly pass. A weekly pass can work out cheaper than seven daily charges, so it's worth checking both before a longer trip.
Different destination lists
The countries included can differ between the two schemes on the same network. Don't assume a destination list you read for contract customers applies to you.
Networks usually publish PAYG roaming on a separate page from their main roaming page. If you're on pay as you go, make sure that's the one you're reading.
The three ways people get stung
The daily fee triggers itself
Not by landing — by use. Sky is the only one of the five that puts the trigger in writing: a call, a text, or 10MB of data. Ten megabytes is nothing, so a phone with data roaming left on will sync mail within minutes of finding a mast, and that counts. Whether simply receiving a call triggers it is the question everyone asks and only Sky answers — it says no. Switch data roaming off before you fly.
Included roaming still has a ceiling
Every inclusive deal carries a fair-use cap. Past it you pay by the gigabyte at rates that make the daily-fee networks look kind. Know your cap before you start streaming.
An eSIM can't ring people
Travel eSIMs sell data, not a number. If you need to take a call on your UK mobile, keep roaming switched on for calls and let the eSIM carry the data. Both at once is often the cheapest setup.
The £0 spend cap, and where it actually works
There is a blunter way to avoid roaming charges than choosing the right network: set your spend cap to zero before you fly. On Three, Vodafone and Sky that blocks the daily roaming fee outright, so it cannot be triggered no matter what your phone does in your pocket. On O2 it does nothing of the sort, and EE doesn't say. Nobody puts these side by side, so here they are, each taken from that network's own page.
| Network | Can you set £0? | Does it block the roaming charge? | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Three | Yes | Yes, explicitly | Three states that at zero you cannot use your allowances in any Go Roam destination, and that the block includes the daily charge itself |
| Vodafone | Yes | Yes | Vodafone states that at £0 you cannot use your phone in destinations outside your plan unless you have bought an Extra — so a pre-bought pass still works |
| EE | Not stated | Yes, for the EU daily charge | EE's cap cannot restrict data pass or add-on purchases, and its help page doesn't say whether £0 is an available setting |
| O2 | Yes — £0 is a listed option | Not for Bolt Ons | O2's cap covers out-of-bundle usage only and explicitly excludes the price of a Bolt On you opt into. European roaming is included anyway, so there is less to block |
| Sky Mobile | Yes | Yes | Sky is the only one to warn that a cap merely set too low blocks you as surely as £0 does: "You won't be able to use your phone abroad if your monthly spend cap is set too low or set to £0" |
Two things before you do it. A £0 cap is not a discount — it is a wall, and on Three, Vodafone and Sky it means your phone genuinely will not work abroad beyond whatever your plan already includes. Sky's warning is worth reading twice: a cap that is simply too low for the trip stops you just as dead, so this can bite people who never set it to zero at all. If you need to be reachable, or to look up an address, that is the wrong tool. And caps are set per account rather than per trip, so it is easy to fly home and forget you left one on.
Where it earns its place is the accidental charge: the stopover that connects to a foreign mast, the phone that syncs mail before you have thought about it, the family member who does not want to think about any of this. Used that way it is the most reliable protection on this page, because it does not depend on anyone remembering to switch anything off.
Where to buy a travel eSIM
We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. It costs you nothing extra, and it doesn't change the order they appear in.
Network by network, side by side
Only networks we've checked against their own published prices appear here. We add a column each time we publish a network guide, rather than filling the table with figures lifted from other comparison sites.
| EE | O2 | Sky | Three | Vodafone | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily charge in Europe | £2.72 | Nothing | £2.00 | £2.00 | £2.75 |
| Shortest pass | 7 days, £16.50 | Not needed | No passes — daily only | 3 days, £5 | 8 days, £16 |
| Longest pass | 12 days, £27.50 | Not needed | No passes — daily only | 14 days, £24 | 15 days, £21 |
| A week in Spain | £16.50 | £0 | £14.00 | £12.00 | £16.00 |
| A fortnight in Spain | £33.00 | £0 | £28.00 | £24.00 | £21.00 |
| A month in Spain | £66.00 | £0 | £56.00 | £48.00 | £42.00 |
| Roaming data cap | 50GB | 25GB | 25GB | 12GB | 25GB |
| Cost over the cap | £3.69 per GB | Buy a Bolt On | £2.50 per GB | 0.3p per MB | £3.84 per GB |
| Switzerland | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Turkey | £6 a day | £7 a day | £2 a day | £7 a day | £8 a day |
| Republic of Ireland | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free |
| Longest you can roam | 2 months per 4 months | 63 days per 4 months | Not stated in the tariff guide | 2 months per rolling year | 62 days per 4 months |
| Once you pass that | Surcharges | Surcharges | Separate fair usage policy | Roaming may be suspended | Surcharges |
| WiFi calling abroad | No | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
| How to check your rate | Text ROAM to 150 | O2 travel checker | Sky destinations list | Go Roam destinations | Roaming Charge Checker |
O2 is the cheapest by a distance in Europe, because it still includes European roaming in the tariff rather than charging for it. A month in Spain costs an O2 customer nothing extra, against £42 on Vodafone, £48 on Three, £56 on Sky and £66 on EE. The trade-off is a 25GB roaming limit and no per-gigabyte overage — once you hit it, data stops until you buy a Bolt On.
Three and Sky share the cheapest daily rate at £2, undercutting EE and Vodafone by about 70p. Three is the more flexible for short trips: its 3-day pass at £5 is the only short pass any network sells, where EE starts at 7 days and £16.50 and Vodafone at 8 days and £16. Sky sells no passes at all, so a week costs a flat £14. Three's rate also depends on your contract date — joins from 18 December 2025 pay £2.75, level with Vodafone — while Sky's does not depend on anything except where you are going.
The long-trip picture is different again. Vodafone's 15-day pass at £21 is the cheapest fortnight of the four that charge, and a month in Europe costs £42 on Vodafone against £48 on Three, £56 on Sky and £66 on EE. Three wins the short trips and Vodafone the long ones, even though their daily rates are 75p apart — passes matter more than the headline rate, which is exactly why Sky, with the joint-lowest rate and no passes, drifts down the table the longer you stay.
The fair-use rules differ in kind, not just in size. Vodafone and Sky both apply a flat 25GB roaming cap, then charge per gigabyte beyond it — £3.84 at Vodafone and £2.50 at Sky. EE, O2 and Three all make their cap conditional: it only applies if your plan allowance is already larger, so on a smaller plan there is no separate roaming limit at all. The numbers therefore aren't comparable as headlines — on an unlimited plan a Three customer is capped at 12GB abroad, a Vodafone, O2 or Sky customer at 25GB, and an EE customer at 50GB. Three's cap is the tightest, but it is also the cheapest to exceed at 0.3p a megabyte. O2 differs again at the limit: there is no per-gigabyte overage at all, so data stops until you buy a Bolt On.
Four of the five limit how long you can roam, which almost nobody mentions. EE requires a stable link to the UK — two months here in any four-month period, or most of your usage at home. O2 allows 63 days abroad in four months before it treats it as unfair use, then charges £3.50 per gigabyte, 3.3p a minute and 1p a text. Vodafone charges past 62 days, or if your usage abroad exceeds your usage at home, with a text warning 14 days beforehand. Three is the outlier and the strictest: two complete months roaming in a rolling twelve, and it may suspend international roaming on your account altogether rather than bill you more. Sky is the exception: its tariff guide sets no days limit at all, though it keeps a separate fair usage policy covering extended use. If you winter abroad or work remotely from Europe, none of them is a way around it — and this matters far more than the daily rate does.
Beyond Europe the order reverses completely. Sky charges the same £2 in all 121 of its destinations, so Turkey, Andorra, the United States and Australia cost what Spain costs. Everyone else treats those as rest-of-world: £6 a day on EE, £7 on O2 and Three, £8 on Vodafone. For a fortnight in Turkey that is £28 on Sky against £112 on Vodafone. The catch is the edge — outside those 121 destinations Sky sells no pass at all, and data is billed by the megabyte.
Two caveats. These figures assume you're paying to roam at all — O2 includes European roaming on every tariff, some current Three plans include Go Roam, Sky Diamond VIP customers get it free, and plenty of EE and Vodafone plans include it too, in which case you pay nothing and none of this applies. And roaming charges are a poor reason on their own to change network: this is worth knowing at your next upgrade, not the week before you fly.
Network guides
A page per network, with its own rates, zones and quirks, built from what each network publishes itself. If you already know where you're going, the roaming charges by country table gives you all five networks' prices for that destination in one row.